Why does rivalry get in the way of so many female friendships, asks this worried mum? | Mail Online

Hi everyone,

I love the British papers.  I couldn’t have asked for a better fit with my blog than this recent article from the Daily Mail.

I think Louise Chunn has it right – competition is what drives us apart – and competition for the attention of  boys/men is at the top of the list.

Dr. Michael Carr-Gregg is quoted as saying that young girls today are the “most vulnerable generation” he’s seen in the last 25 years.

What’s going on here?????

2 responses to “Why does rivalry get in the way of so many female friendships, asks this worried mum? | Mail Online

  1. Sonja Dowbiggin

    As the mother of 3 boys, now young men, I would certainly agree that competition for men is at the top of the list.
    I have so often been disgusted by the antics of females who clearly only have one focus in life.
    This puts me in the awkward position of trying to instill respect for women yet also warning my boys about females who clearly want to take advantage of them both sexually and financially.
    My oldest son’s good friend was falsely accused of rape two years ago. I think my guys then understood why I would not let them go, as teenagers, to the home of a girl whose parents were not at home.
    All of your posts are striking a chord with me.

  2. I do not understand why there is rivalry between female friends. The fact that woman understand statements such as ” oh you know, she is one of those friends who want you to fail” or ” she likes to be the prettier one” is unacceptable.

    I would not classify myself as a feminist, but I agree that we as females should stop the competition and “ frenemy” tendencies.

Leave a Reply

